Home FurnishingsBraunston Village Hall - Hiring and Information

BVGA Activities

Braunston Village Gardens Association (BVGA) is a village club that has an active programme throughout the year. We welcome new members at anytime, please contact Chris or Kate to find out more.

We are very open to new ideas, for example in the past we ran a successful junior gardening competition in June and July. You do not have to be involved with every event. Just let us know what you would be interested in supporting.

BVGA Events  2018

Tuesday 27th March 7.30pm to 9.00pm. Tickets £3

Speaker – Alison Hodge from Upton House National Trust.

Talk title – From Mud to Magic - An eye for design at Upton House.

Saturday 12th May 10am to 12pm.

BVGA Plant Sale with Braunston Bakes. Buy a variety of bedding, annuals and perennials. Pre ordering possible, please contact Kate.

Saturday 23rd June 10am to 5pm. Cost £34 maximum

Garden visit Winterbourne House and Garden, Birmingham

To include entrance, buffet lunch and coach travel.

A secret date in the summer!

Gardens competition- all businesses & residences

Saturday 18th August 10am to 5pm. Cost £27 maximum

Garden visit University of Leicester Botanical Gardens guided tour and visit to Wistow Rural Centre

Saturday 1st September

Braunston Show – start to plan your entries early this year.

Tuesday 23rd October 7.30pm to 9.00pm. Tickets £3

Speaker – Marie Le Nepveu from Rimo Growers. Speaker’s fee will go to Motor Neurone Association.

Talk title – Hip Hooray for winter. Get planting for winter cheer.

Thursday 13th December AGM 7.30pm to 8.00pm

Followed by a planning meeting

BVGA regular activities 2018

Planning meetings – 7.30pm start.

2nd Thursday of month.

Thursday 8th March

Thursday 12th April – Plant Sale organisation

Thursday 10th May

Thursday 14th June – Show organisation

Thursday 12th July – Show organisation

Thursday 9th August – Garden Store review

Thursday 13th September

Thursday 11th October - Show Review

Thursday 8th November – 2019 Planning meeting

Thursday 13th December - after AGM

Community Gardening – 10am start.

3rd Thursday

Thursday 15th March, 19th April, 17th May, 21st June

Thursday 19th July, 16th Aug, 20th Sept, 18th October

Members will garden when available.

Garden Store – 11am to 12.00pm

From Sunday 4th March to Sunday 27th May

Show Sub-committee meetings

February – reviewing schedule

March – publicity, sourcing prizes.

August – Tombola prizes

Events Diary

The BVGA Year

Month Activity Month Activity
Jan

 

 

July

Gardens competition

Community gardening

Open Gardens and plant sale. Alternate years. Odd years.

Feb

Community gardening

Annual meal

Garden Store Preorders

August

Summer social

Community gardening

March

Speaker 1

Community gardening

Garden Store OPENS

Sept

Braunston Show

Community gardening

Garden visit further afield nor in the spring

April

Garden Store open

Community gardening

Oct

Speaker 2

Community gardening

May

Local garden visit linked to speaker 

Community gardening

Annual Plant Sale 

Garden Store open

Nov  
June

Gardens competition

 

Community gardening

Garden visit further afield nor in the autumn.

Dec AGM

 

News

Gallery

A beautiful stroll through Coton Manor Bluebell Woods April 2014BVGA April 2014 visit to Coton ManorBVGA volunteers start the spring tidying of The Jubilee Garden
Home FurnishingsBraunston Village Hall - Hiring and Information