Northamptonshire's Best Large Village 2016Braunston Village Hall - Hiring and Information

BVGA Activities

Braunston Village Gardens Association (BVGA) is a village club that has an active programme throughout the year. We welcome new members at anytime, please contact Chris or Kate to find out more.

We are very open to new ideas, for example in the past we ran a successful junior gardening competition in June and July. You do not have to be involved with every event. Just let us know what you would be interested in supporting.

BVGA Events  2017

Tuesday 28th March 7.30pm to 9.00pm. Tickets £3

Speaker – Christine Vick from the National Herb Centre, Warmington. There will be plants for sale.

Talk title – Growing and Using Herbs

Saturday 6th May 11am to 3pm. Free entry

Plant Sale - Buy a variety of bedding, annuals and perennials. Pre ordering possible, please contact Kate.

Tuesday 27th June 7pm at National Herb Centre. Cost £8

Garden visit Hedgerow and Herb Walk with herb cake.

Sunday 9th July 11am to 6pm. Tickets £4.

Open Gardens for Macmillan Cancer Support

Visit a variety of Braunston Gardens and enjoy afternoon tea and buy more plants!

A secret date in the summer!

Gardens competition- all businesses & residences

Saturday 2nd September

Braunston Show – start to plan your entries early this year.

Wednesday 20th September. 9.30am to 5pm. Cost tbc.

Garden visit to National Memorial Arboretum, Alrewas.

Tuesday 31st October 7.30pm to 9.00pm. Tickets £3

Speaker – Michael Brown Northamptonshire Garden Trust.

Talk title – Death in the Garden. Poisonous plants. Myths, magic, passion and murder.

Thursday 14th December AGM 7.30pm to 8.00pm

Followed by a planning meeting

BVGA regular activities 2017

Planning meetings – 7.30pm start.

2nd Thursday of month.

Thursday 12th January

Thursday 9th March

Thursday 11th May

Thursday 8th June - tbc

Thursday 10th August – Garden Store review

Thursday 12th October - Show Review

Thursday 9th November – 2018 Planning meeting

Thursday 14th December (after AGM)

Community Gardening – 10am start.

2nd Thursday - 3 times a year.

Thursday 23rd March

Thursday 13th July

Thursday 14th September

At other times of the year members will garden when available.

Garden Store – 11am to 12.00pm

From Sunday 12th March to Sunday 4th June

Show Sub-committee meetings

February – reviewing schedule

March – publicity, sourcing prizes.

August – Tombola prizes

Events Diary

The BVGA Year

Month Activity Month Activity
Jan

Community gardening

Annual meal

July

Gardens competition

Open Gardens and plant sale. Alternate years. 

Feb Community gardening August Summer social
March

Speaker 1

Community gardening

Garden Store opens

Sept

Braunston Show

Community gardening

Garden visit further afield nor in the spring

April Garden Store Oct

Speaker 2

Community gardening

May

Local garden visit linked to speaker 

Community gardening

Annual Plant Sale 

Garden Store

Nov Community gardening
June

Gardens competition

last Garden Store opening

Garden visit further afield nor in the autumn.

Dec AGM

 

News

Gallery

Northamptonshire's Best Large Village 2016Braunston Village Hall - Hiring and Information